Friday, December 22, 2017

Book Review: 'The Southern Belle’s Guide to Witchcraft' by Loribelle Hunt


When an unknown evil stalks Scarlet’s hometown can she find the source before it’s too late?
Scarlet is a Guardian. A witch in a small town in Alabama, she takes no crap from anyone and that includes the very sexy sheriff, Jake. Unlucky in love and trying to keep up with two teenage daughters as well as rid the town of all manner of paranormal pests, Scarlet has her hands full.
When her ex-husband is found dead in a ritualistic style killing and an unknown evil is discovered lurking in the primeval forest nearby, Scarlet and her family have a huge undertaking ahead. With strangers arriving in town and more supernatural hijinks unfolding, she will have her hands full. Jake (prepare for shifter crack) is content to let her investigate her own way but when things get out of hand, he’s ready to let a bit of fur fly.
The characters in this book are sassy and full of Southern charm. Her daughters are just delightful and I would never, ever want to cross Scarlet’s mama. No way. Romantic tension rose with every page and when Scarlet and Jake hit the sheets it was an inferno. I did get the feeling this was more urban fantasy than straight out romance but the sparks were sure nice when they flew. Spicy but sweet, this story is sure to please readers who love Kim Harrison and Charlaine Harris.
The only two issues I had with the book were head hopping and the feeling I had missed a first book in a series somewhere. It was a bit confusing in several points in the book but I was too busy trying to find out what was going to happen to be too concerned about it in the end. Overall, I enjoyed the read and look forward to trying other books in this author’s repertoire. The politics were interesting and the hunt for the supernatural baddy was fun. I can’t resist an author who loves to create smart aleck characters and write about sexy werewolves.
Vampires, elves, witches and shifters, oh my…

Editor's note: This article was originally published at Long and Short ReviewsIt has been republished with permission. Like what you read? Subscribe to the SFRB's free daily email notice so you can be up-to-date on our latest articles. Scroll up this page to the sign-up field on your right.

No comments:

Post a Comment